Siobhan Q.
“ Did the other applicants have previous experience working for the NHS or within the health industry? ”

Siobhan Q. asked a question
during the live chat Q&A Session 1 - The education and development opportunities on the NHS Graduate Management Training Scheme
to NHS Recruitment Team

16/01/2014
6 Live chat
hello! did you/ did the other successful applicants have previous experience working for the NHS or within the healthcare sector?
16/01/2014
HR Business Partner, Midlands And Lancashire CSU

Hi Sioban - welcome to the chat :) - I have no NHS experience and previously did a degree in Geography so was all very new to me - what have you applied for?

16/01/2014
Siobhan Q.

Thanks for your response! I have applied for the General Management Scheme and wondered whether it was difficult (especially perhaps to begin with) being in an environment with lots of new terms and vocabulary?

16/01/2014
NHS Graduate Management Trainee - Finance, Wrightington, Wigan And Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

Hi Siobhan, Unlike Lily, I have a healthcare background as I am a physiotherapist by qualification however this does not matter as you get a brilliant induction to both the NHS in general, your role and your host trust, :)

16/01/2014
NHS Graduate Management Trainee - Finance, Wrightington, Wigan And Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

I am a finance trainee so I am probably exposed to more jargon than anyone however you learn very quickly that in the NHS there is an acronym for everything so I think it is important that you clarify what they are as they arise to save you getting into a muddle at a later date. Does that help!?

16/01/2014
Siobhan Q.

Thank you Debbi - yes that does! I think that making sure you understand everything as you go along is probably the key, especially with balancing working and studying for the post-graduate qualification. Is maintaining a balance between the two difficult?

22/01/2014